2012-2013 News Archive

June 2013: Student accolades at CSC 2013

Three students win presentation awards at the 2013 CSC held in Quebec City.   Read more...

May 2013: Matt Ward receives the 2013 Jack Lorimer Convocation Honour

Dr. Matthew Ward (Sham) has been awarded the 2013 Jack Lorimer Convocation Honour.   Read more...

April 2013: Ryan Guterman places in 3-Minute Thesis competition

Mr. Ryan Guterman (Ragogna) placed third in this year's annual 3-Minute Thesis (3MT) competition.   Read more...

April 2013: 3M Lecturer Prof. Ian Manners

We are pleased to welcome Prof. Ian Manners from The University of Bristol as this year’s 3M Lecturer.   Read more...

April 2013: Chemists weigh in on Franklin lead debate

Research from Prof. Ron Martin and co-workers is featured by the CBC.   Read more...

April 2013: Dr. Lijia Liu wins 2012 Bancroft Thesis Award

Dr. Lijia Liu, a recent graduate of this department, has been selected as the winner the 2012 Bancroft Thesis Award of the Canadian Light Source.   Read more...

April 2013: Western excels at SOUSCC

At the 2013 Southern Ontario Undergraduate Student Chemistry Conference held at McMaster University, March 30, 2013, 5 of our students won presentation awards.   Read more...

April 2013: Chemistry Awarded SSD Funds

We are extremely pleased to announce that through the generosity of the Science Student Donation Fund (SSDF) the Department of Chemistry has been awarded $29,525 for the purchase of new undergraduate lab equipment.   Read more...

March 2013: Prof. Konermann honored with the 2013 Ken Standing Award

It gives us great pleasure to announce that Professor Lars Konermann has been awarded the 2013 Ken Standing Award.   Read more...

March 2013: Welcome Professor Johanna Blacquiere

We are pleased to announce that Dr. Johanna Blacquiere has accepted our offer of an appointment as Assistant Professor of Chemistry!   Read more...

March 2013: Prof. Corrigan awarded Florence Bucke Science Prize

We are pleased to announce that Professor John Corrigan has been awarded the 2013 Florence Bucke Science Prize of the Faculty of Science.   Read more...

December 2012: The Centre for Synchrotron Radiation Research

This month, Western celebrated the opening of the Soochow University-Western University Centre for Synchrotron Radiation Research, located in Suzhou, Jiangsu province, China.   Read more...

November 2012: Graduate Student Accolades

Four graduate students receive presentation awards.  

September 2012: Dr. Hossein Ismaili delivers De Mayo Award Lecture

Dr. Hossein Ismaili (Workentin) delivers De Mayo Award Lecture.   Read more...

September 2012: Mark Milne wins poster prize

Mark Milne won a first place poster award at the World Molecular Imaging Conference held in Dublin, Ireland.   Read more...

September 2012: Prof. Sham Elected RSC Fellow

We are pleased to announce that Professor TK Sham, Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in Synchrotron Radiation and Professor of Chemistry, has been elected Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada.   Read more...

August 2012: Students win poster prizes

Six WU students win international poster prizes!  

Contact Us

Yining Huang
Department Chair

Martin Stillman
Associate Chair

Stella Constas
Graduate Admissions Coordinator

Kay Calvin
Chair, Undergraduate Counselling

Anna Vandendries-Barr
Administrative Officer

Darlene McDonald
Graduate Coordinator

Department of Chemistry
Western University
Chemistry Building
1151 Richmond Street
London, Ontario, Canada N6A 5B7

P (519) 661-2166
F (519) 661-3022

Office Hours
Monday-Friday 8:30-4:30

Connect with Western

FacebookYou TubeFlickrTwitter
Social Media

Also of interest:

Western provides the best student experience among Canada's leading research-intensive universities.