Chemistry Administration and Staff

The Administration and support staff in the Department of Chemistry offers clerical and technical assistance for virtually every aspect of teaching and research. Departmental common facilities, such as the NMR's, Mass Spectrometer, Electronics Shop, and the Glass Blowing Shop, are managed by our staff, many of whom are recognized experts in their field. In addition, the undergraduate laboratories are fully staffed by qualified Laboratory Technicians and Instructional Assistants.

These people are well-qualified and are available for advice in many areas. Our knowledgeable office personnel are of great assistance in guiding students and visitors through unfamiliar territory, in purchasing supplies and equipment, as well as with academic and personnel queries.

To reach any of us, dial 519 661-2111, followed by the 5-digit extension.


Administrative Officer

Anna Vandendvrie

ext. 86344

avandend@uwo.ca



Departmental Manager

Warren Lindsay

ext. 80979

sciwel@uwo.ca



Graduate Coordinator

Darlene McDonald

ext. 81543

dhagen@uwo.ca


ChemBio Stores

Marylou Hart

ext. 86303

mhart@uwo.ca


Sherrie McPhee

ext. 86300

smcphee@uwo.ca


Don Yakobchuk

ext. 82168

donyakob@uwo.ca


Monica  Chirigel

ext. 82168

mklein8@uwo.ca


Departmental Secretaries

Sandy McCaw

ext. 86350

smccaw@uwo.ca


Clara Fernandes

ext. 86342

cbfernan@uwo.ca


Electronics Shop

John Vanstone

ext 86304

scijav@uwo.ca


Jon Aukema

ext. 86304

jaukema@uwo.ca


Barakat Misk

ext. 86304

bmisk@uwo.ca


Glass Blowing Shop

Yves Rambour

ext. 80098

yrambour@uwo.ca


Laboratory Technicians

Lesley Tchorek

ext. 86340

ltchorek@uwo.ca


Susan England

ext. 86328/86340

sengland@uwo.ca


Sandra Zakaria Holtslag

ext. 86927

szakaria@uwo.ca


Robin Hall

ext. 86322

scirrh@uwo.ca


Ron Maslen (Manager)

ext. 86322/87883

rlmaslen@uwo.ca


Robert Harbottle

ext. 86340

rharbott@uwo.ca


Facilities Staff

Mathew Willans (NMR)

ext. 82905

mwillans@uwo.ca


Doug Hairsine (Mass Spec)

ext. 86323

scidwh@uwo.ca


Paul  Boyle (X-ray)

ext. 82743

pboyle@uwo.ca


Instructional Assistants

Jan Mathers

ext. 86927

jmathers@uwo.ca


Western provides the best student experience among Canada's leading research-intensive universities.