Current Graduate Students

PhD Students:

Doiara Silva dos Santos

Hometown: Itabuna, Bahia, Brazil
Advisor: Dr. Robert Barney
Research Interest: Latin American Olympic history, media and the Olympics
Dissertation Topic: Latin America and The Olympic Movement: A Historical Perspective
Contact: dsantos5@uwo.ca

Matthew Waddell

Hometown: Ottawa, Ontario
Advisor: Dr. Angela Schneider
Research Interest: athlete talent identification and development; anti-doping; virtue ethics and self-actualization
Dissertation Topic: TBD
Contact: mwaddel2@uwo.ca

Wenshuai Mao ("Sunny")

Hometown: Liaoning Province, China
Advisor: Dr. Robert Barney
Research Interest: Olympic education
Dissertation Topic: The Legacy of Olympic Education and the 2008 Beijing Olympic Games
Contact: wmao4@uwo.ca

Brad Congelio

Hometown: Wellsburg, West Virginia, USA
Advisor: Dr. Robert Barney
Research Interest: Politics of the Olympic Games
Dissertation Topic: Before the World Was Quiet: Ronald Regan's Five-Ringed Diplomacy at the 1984 Los Angeles Olympic Summer Games
Contact: bcongeli@uwo.ca  

Master's Students:

Sophy Chan

Hometown: Toronto, Ontario (Canada)
Advisor: Dr. Janice Forsyth
Research Interest: social impacts of the Olympic Games; the intersection of homeless, poverty, and policy in the Olympic Games
Contact: schan323@uwo.ca

Sam Jacobs

Hometown: West Vancouver, British Columbia
Advisor: Dr. Janice Forsyth
Research Interest: multi-sport ethnic games and the Olympic movement; unionization of Olympic athletes
Contact: sjacobs8@uwo.ca

Erin Marie Fray

Hometown: Guelph, Ontario
Advisor: Dr. Janice Forsyth
Research Interest: sport for development in Canada
Contact: efray@uwo.ca

Kaitlyn Lindensmith

Hometown: Keswick, Ontario
Advisor:
Dr. Janice Forsyth
Research Interest: cultural politics of the Paralympic Movement
Contact: klindens@uwo.ca

Melinda Maika

Hometown: Kinburn, Ontario
Advisor: Dr. Karen Danylchuk
Research Interest: mediated representations of Paralympic athletes
Contact: mmaika3@uwo.ca 

Nicole Jacobs

Hometown: Toronto, Ontario
Advisor: Dr. Laura Misener
Research Interest: the effect of the strategic alliance between the IOC and IPC on Paralympic sport
Contact: njacobs2@uwo.ca

Western provides the best student experience among Canada's leading research-intensive universities.