Research Western

Canada Council for the Arts - Killam Prizes

Sponsor Guidelines

Subject Areas

The Killam awards of the Canada Council for the Arts are intended to

support scholars of exceptional ability engaged in research projects of

broad significance and widespread interest.


Canada Council: See web site


Five prizes of $100,000 are awarded each year in recognition of outstanding career achievements (1 prize in each of the 5 fields).

The Killam Prizes are awarded annually to distinguished Canadian scholars doing research in any of the following fields: engineering, health sciences, natural sciences, social sciences or humanities. Normally, one prize of $100,000 is awarded each year in each of the five fields.

Application Method

Scholars may not apply for the Killam Prizes; they must be nominated by an expert in their field.

To be nominated for the prizes, candidates must have made a substantial and distinguished contribution, over a significant period, to scholarly research in Canada.

Only Canadian citizens are eligible for this honour.

Indirect costs are not supported by this program.


Nominators must complete and submit a nomination form, which is available from the Canada Council Endowments and Prizes Section. The nominator is responsible for gathering all the relevant documentation, including support letters, and sending it to the Killam Program (Endowments and Prizes).

The interdisciplinary Killam Selection Committee chooses the laureates based on the purpose of the prizes and the eligibility criteria. The selection committee is composed of 15 distinguished scholars appointed by the Canada Council. The committee members are chosen to ensure fair representation of gender, Canada's two official languages, the various regions and cultures of Canada, and various artistic and scholarly disciplines.

Western Contact(s)

Research Office

Sponsor Contact(s)

Kelly Rodrigues
Killam Program
Canada Council for the Arts
Phone: 1-800-263-5588 (toll-free) or 613-566-4308, ext. 4083

Click here for a brief overview of this award, including nomination/application details and instructions. Western username and password required.

Click here for a more in-depth summary of this award. Western username and password required.