Faculty of Science

Research Awards Information

OCUFA (Ontario Confederation of University Faculty Associations) Awards

Each year, OCUFA recognizes outstanding teachers and academic librarians in Ontario universities through awards. Since 1973, OCUFA has presented 271 awards. The recipients are selected by the OCUFA Teaching and Academic Leadership Awards Committee. Approximately 10 awards are presented.

Teaching, in the context of the OCUFA Awards, embraces virtually all levels of instruction - graduate and undergraduate teaching, continuing education, and faculty development. Similarly, proficiency in teaching may extend well beyond the classroom, the laboratory, or the faculty member's office. Activities such as course design, curriculum development, organization of teaching programs, and other significant forms of leadership are often important contributions to the instructional process. Those who excel in any of these are eligible for the OCUFA Teaching Awards.


3M Teaching Fellowships

The Society for Teaching and Learning in Higher Education (STLHE) and 3M Canada have joined together to reward exceptional contributions to teaching and learning at Canadian universities. As part of their collaboration, they established the 3M Teaching Fellowship in 1986.

Awards are open to any individual currently teaching at a Canadian university regardless of discipline or level of appointment. The selection committee will look for independent evidence that the nominee's teaching is very highly regarded both by peers and students, as well as evidence that the nominee has played a leadership role in the improvement of university teaching and learning beyond his or her own courses at the candidate's institution and perhaps beyond. A letter of support from the Provost must accompany nomination documentation.


Canada Council Killam Research Fellowship

Killam Research Fellowships are intended for established scholars who have demonstrated outstanding research ability and who have published the results of this research through substantial publications in their fields over a period of several years. They are primarily designed to meet the needs of career scholars in Canadian universities. The normal profile of the 100 or so applicants each year and especially of the dozen or so winning candidates is that of a Full Professor in a Canadian university. Applicants must provide proof that they are Canadian citizens or permanent residents of Canada.

Please visit the website for eligibility criteria and application information.


The Herzberg Medal (formerly known as the Canada Gold Medal for Science and Engineering)

The NSERC Herzberg Medal will be awarded for both the sustained excellence and the overall influence of a body of work conducted in Canada in the natural sciences or engineering. The nominee's work must demonstrate a high degree of expertise, creativity, imagination, leadership, perseverance and dedication.

For more information and for complete details, please visit the website.


The E.W.R. Steacie Memorial Fellowship

The NSERC Steacie Fellowships honour the memory of Dr. Edgar William Richard Steacie, an outstanding chemist and research leader who made major contributions to the development of science in Canada during and immediately following the Second World War.

To learn more and for complete details, please visit the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) website.


Fellowship, Foreign Membership and Honorary Fellowship of the Royal Society

Each year up to 42 new Fellows and 6 new Foreign Members are elected from the most distinguished scientists. Election to the Fellowship of the Royal Society is recognized worldwide as a sign of the highest regard in science. Fellows are drawn from citizens of, and those normally resident in, British Commonwealth countries and the Irish Republic. Candidates must be proposed by at least 6 existing Fellows and are assessed by Sectional Committees (which at any one time contain about 10% of the Fellowship) in each major field of science. Foreign Members are drawn from scientists from other countries. In addition, Council can recommend for election members of the British Royal Family and at most one person each year for Honorary Fellowship for conspicuous services to the cause of science.

Fellows are called upon to fulfill a wide range of tasks for and on behalf of the Society. For many this means substantial time and effort, given voluntarily, in the cause of science and the Royal Society.


The Royal Society of Canada

The Society has traditionally administered endowed awards, generally named to honor past Fellows. These awards are not limited to Fellows and are open to any candidate for achievements in either or both official languages in a wide spectrum of disciplines: in science and technology, in the social sciences, and in the humanities. Fifteen medals, with cash prizes, may be awarded on an annual or biennial basis.

Visit the website for complete award details.


The Federation of Chinese Canadian Professionals (Ontario)

The Federation of Chinese Canadian Professionals (Ontario) Education Foundation writes to the Dean in April to ask for nominations for the Award of Merit. The award has been given annually by the Federation to distinguished Chinese Canadians with outstanding professional achievements since 1985.

The recipient of the Award in 1999 was Professor David Lai of the University of Victoria. Professor Lai was cited for his significant contribution to the study of Chinatown growth in Canada.

Each nomination should be sponsored by two nominators. It should include a brief resume of the nominee, outlining his or her achievements and/or contributions. All nominations should reach Dr. John H.C. Chiu at 150 Heath Street West, Suite 201, Toronto, Ontario, M4V 2Y4) by July 31st of the current year.