Western Postdoctoral Fellowship Program Scholars


Supported by the Vice-President (Research), the Western Postdoctoral Fellowship Program provides funding to the very best postdoctoral applicants who will contribute positively to research excellence at the university and help advance Western's strategic plans. Recently awarded postdoctoral scholars in this program include:

2023 Recipients

Fellow Supervisor Faculty
Abhimanyu Acharya Manina Jones Faculty of Arts & Humanities
Tania Canas Amanda Grzyb Faculty of Information and Media Studies
Qikun Feng Yang Zhao Faculty of Engineering
Manda Fischer Ingrid Johnsrude Faculty of Social Sciences
Kristin Franseen Edmund Goehring Faculty of Music
Erin Iredale Matthew Hebb Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry
Maria Khan Jun Li Faculty of Education
Yadira Lizama Mué Juan Luis Suárez Faculty of Arts & Humanities
Idowu Olawoye Jennifer Guthrie Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry
Sananda Sahoo Joanna Redden Faculty of Information and Media Studies
Peter Slovensky Yolanda Hedberg Faculty of Science
Sajesh Vijayan Natasha Mhatre Faculty of Science
Brent Wakefield Trevor Birmingham Faculty of Health Sciences
Allie Wall Katreena Scott Faculty of Education

2022 Recipients

Fellow Supervisor Faculty
Olateju Ajanaku Isola Ajiferuke FIMS
Nicolyn Charlot Claire Houston Law
Diana Dima Yalda Mohsenzadeh Science
Natalie Ein Don Richardson Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry
Laura Hallward Eva Pila Faculty of Health Sciences
Uri Jacob James Grier Don Wright Faculty of Music
Moynan King Spy Dénommé Welch Faculty of Education
Raj Sing Emily Abrams Ansari Office of Indigenous Initiatives / Don Wright Faculty of Music
Alex Veinot Paul Ragogna Office of Indigenous Initiatives / Faculty of Science
Arun Vuppaladadiyam Ying Zheng Faculty of Engineering
Ella Wind David Calnitsky Faculty of Social Science

2019 Recipients

Fellow Supervisor Faculty
Maryam Farzad Joy MacDermid Faculty of Health Sciences
Daniel Miller Blake Butler Social Science
Zhandong Huang Jun Yang Engineering
Vasudeva Bhat Alison Allan Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry
Erin Brandt Natasha Mhatre Science
Namis Amiresmaeili Brent Sinclair Science
Ruizhi Yu Xueliang Sun Engineering
Rebecca Livernois Eric Desjardins Arts & Humanities
Ed Baggs Michael Anderson Arts & Humanities
Ethan Schaefer Catherine Neish Science

2018 Recipients

Fellow Supervisor Faculty
Roberta Bgeginski Michelle Mottola Faculty of Health Sciences
Conrad Giresse Tetsassi Feugmo Mikko Karttunen Science
Chris Forgaard Paul Gribble Social Science
Alexandra Giancarlo Janice Forsyth Faculty of Health Sciences
Irshad Ahmed Hajam Mansour Haeryfar Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry
Roberto Limongi Lena Palaniyappan Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry
Gina Martin Jason Gililand Social Science
Kuppuraj Sengottuvel Lisa Archibald Faculty of Health Sciences
Ashley Sisco Brent Debassige Education
Leticia Soares Elizabeth MacDougall-Shackleton Science