

DON WRIGHT FACULTY OF MUSIC

Effective Date: May 14, 2021

Supersedes: July 2008

COMPOSITION AND RULES OF PROCEDURE

1. The Don Wright Faculty of Music (hereafter "Faculty of Music") shall consist of the following departments: Music Education, Music Performance Studies, and Music Research and Composition.

Admission of other departments to the Faculty of Music will require the following steps:

- (i) application by the proposed department to the Faculty of Music Council;
- (ii) approval of this application by the Senate, after consultation with the Faculty of Music Council.
- 2. The academic and administrative head of the Faculty of Music shall be the Dean of the Faculty of Music. Appointments to this position shall be made in accordance with current University policy.
- 3. Student enrolment in the Faculty of Music shall consist of all students who enroll for the Faculty of Music programs outlined in the Academic Calendar.
- 4. There shall be a Faculty of Music Council (hereafter referred to as Council) responsible to the Senate and composed of:
 - (A) The following ex officio voting members:
 - (i) The President & Vice-Chancellor
 - (ii) Such Vice-Presidents of the University as the Senate may determine
 - (iii) The Dean of the Faculty of Music (who shall be Chair of Council), and such Associate Dean(s) of the Faculty of Music as may be duly appointed
 - (iv) The Director of Administration
 - (v) The Director of the Music Library
 - (vi) Such other ex officio members as the Senate may determine, upon the recommendation of Council.

(B)

(i) All full-time faculty members (limited term, probationary and tenured) in the Faculty of Music

- (ii) The following representatives holding the rank of Lecturer or higher:
 - 1 from the Faculty of Arts and Humanities
 - 1 from the Faculty of Education
 - 1 from the Faculty of Science
 - 1 from the Faculty of Social Science
- (iii) Three full-time undergraduate students registered in the Faculty of Music. Two of these students shall be appointed: the President of the Faculty of Music Students' Council (FoMSC), and the VP Student Experience and Advocacy (FoMSC). The third student shall be elected annually by the voting members of FoMSC.
- (iv) One full-time graduate student registered in the Faculty of Music. The Chair of the Society of Graduate Students in Music (SOGSIM) shall be appointed to this position annually each fall.
- (v) Up to four part-time/Limited Duties faculty members in the Faculty of Music, to be elected as soon as practicable after the commencement of the Fall term each year by all such members.
- (vi) One full-time staff member in the Faculty of Music, elected by the staff.

The process for electing/appointing the members detailed in 4 (B) (ii), (iii), (iv), (v) and (vi) shall be managed by the Office of the Dean in conjunction with the various groups as listed.

- 5. Members of the above categories shall be entitled to participate fully in meetings of Council, i.e., to speak, to propose motions, to vote on all questions, and to serve on subcommittees if elected at such meetings. No member of Council may appoint or send a designate to act or vote on his/her behalf.
- 6. Non-voting attendees at Council shall include any invited guests/observers and the Recording Secretary. These attendees may participate in discussion, but shall neither move/second motions nor vote.
- 7. The duties of the Chair of Council (Dean of the Faculty of Music) shall be to preside at meetings and carry out other duties as necessary. In the absence of or at the request of the Chair, a Vice-Chair shall preside at meetings or fulfill any other duties of the Chair.

The Vice-Chair shall be elected by Council every two (2) years at its last meeting in the spring. Only Council members listed in 4 (B) (i) shall be eligible to serve as Vice-Chair. The Vice-Chair shall serve for a two (2) year term on Council, and shall also be the Chair of the Nominations and Operations Committee, ex officio, for a two (2) year term.

- Council shall meet at least four (4) times during the academic year. Common practice is six (6) meetings during the academic year. Council meeting agendas shall be approved by the Nominations and Operations Committee.
- 9. Regular meetings of Council shall be called with notice of one week. The notice shall include the agenda of the meeting. Special meetings of Council may be called on the written notice of not less than 10% of members of Council, and shall be convened in the seven days thereafter to consider the matter(s) set out in the notice. This notice shall include the agenda of the special meeting.

- 10. Council shall advise the Senate on all matters under the jurisdiction of the Senate which are pertinent to the Faculty of Music or referred to Council by the Senate, and shall determine policy on all such matters if so delegated by the Senate.
- 11. Council shall establish a Nominations and Operations Committee and such other committees as it considers necessary. Council may delegate authority to its committees but these shall be responsible to Council.
- 12. Quorum for meetings of Council shall be one-third (1/3) of the members listed in 4.(B)(i). Otherwise, the by-laws and regulations for the conduct of Council's proceedings shall, where practicable, be those adopted by the Senate.