

FACULTY OF SCIENCE

Effective Date: July 1, 2021

Supersedes: December 2004

COMPOSITION AND RULES OF PROCEDURE

1. The Faculty of Science shall consist of the following departments:

Anatomy & Cell Biology, Biology, Microbiology & Immunology, Biochemistry, Medical Biophysics, Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth Sciences, History of Medicine, Mathematics, Physics & Astronomy, Physiology and Pharmacology, and Statistics & Actuarial Sciences.

Admission of other departments to the Faculty of Science will require the following steps:

- (i) application of the department concerned to the Senate
- (ii) approval of this application by the Senate, after consultation with the Faculty of Science and any other Faculty concerned.
- 2. The Head of the Faculty of Science shall be the Dean of Science who shall be assisted by one or more Associate or Assistant Deans.
- 3. Student enrolment in the Faculty of Science shall consist of all first year students whose academic objectives are programs offered by the Faculty of Science, students in honors programs in departments of the Faculty of Science, all three-year BSc students, all fifteen-course BA students of the University taking areas of concentration offered by departments within the Faculty of Science, plus any students who, in the opinion of the Senate, have academic needs which are best met by enrolment in the Faculty of Science.
- 4. There shall be a Council of the Faculty of Science, responsible to Senate, and composed of:
 - (A) The following ex officio members:
 - (i) The President & Vice-Chancellor
 - (ii) Such Vice-Presidents of the University as the Senate may determine
 - (iii) The Dean (who shall be Chair of the Council) and Associate and Assistant Deans of the Faculty
 - (iv) The Science Librarian
 - (v) One full-time member of the administrative staff of the Faculty of Science, elected thereby
 - (vi) Such other ex officio members as the Senate may, from time to time, determine upon the recommendation of the Council of the Faculty of Science.

- (B)
 - (i) All members of the departments of the Faculty of Science who hold the rank of Lecturer or higher.
 - (ii) The following representatives holding the rank of Lecturer or higher:
 - 3 from the Faculty of Arts and Humanities
 - 3 from the Faculty of Social Science
 - 3 from the Faculty of Engineering
 - 1 from the Faculty of Information and Media Studies
 - 1 from the Faculty of Education
 - 1 from the Don Wright Faculty of Music
 - (iii) Two students of the Faculty of Science
 - (iv) Such other members as the Senate may, from time to time, determine.
- 5. Members of the above categories shall be entitled to participate fully in meetings of the Council, i.e., to speak, to propose motions, to vote on all questions and to sit on committees elected at such meetings.
- 6. The Council shall meet at least twice each academic year and at such other times as the Council or the Senate may prescribe. A minimum of 25% of the members of the Council shall constitute a quorum.
- 7. A special meeting of the Council shall be called on the written notice of twelve (12) of its members, and shall be convened within seven (7) days thereafter, to consider the matter(s) set out in the notice.
- 8. The Council shall advise Senate on all matters under the jurisdiction of the Senate which are pertinent to the Faculty of Science or referred to the Council by the Senate, and shall determine policy on all such matters if so delegated by the Senate.
- 9. The Council shall establish an Executive Committee and such other committees as it considers necessary. The Council may delegate authority to its committees but these shall be responsible to the Council.
- 10. The by-laws and regulations for the conduct of the Council's proceedings shall, where practicable, be those adopted by the Senate.