

FACULTY OF SOCIAL SCIENCE

Effective Date: June 2020

Supersedes: April 2012

COMPOSITION AND RULES OF PROCEDURE

 The Faculty of Social Science shall consist of the following Departments and Academic Units: Anthropology; Economics; Gender, Sexuality and Women's Studies¹; Geography and Environment; History; DAN Department of Management & Organizational Studies; Political Science; Psychology; Sociology.

Admission of other Departments to the Faculty of Social Science will require the following steps:

- (i) application of the Department concerned to the Senate
- (ii) approval of this application by the Senate, after consultation with the Faculty of Social Science and any other Faculty concerned
- 2. The academic and administrative head of the Faculty of Social Science shall be the Dean of Social Science who may be assisted by one or more Associate Deans. Appointments to these positions shall be made in accordance with current University policy.
- Student enrolment in the Faculty of Social Science shall consist of Full- or Part-Time Western students (at the undergraduate, special undergraduate or graduate level) whose current faculty of registration is the Faculty of Social Science.
- 4. There shall be a Council of the Faculty of Social Science, responsible to Senate, and composed of:
 - (A) The following ex officio members:
 - (i) The President & Vice-Chancellor
 - (ii) Such Vice-Presidents of the University as the Senate may determine
 - (iii) The Dean (who shall be Chair of the Council) and Associate Deans of the Faculty of Social Science
 - (iv) The Vice-Provost or an Associate Vice-Provost of the School of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies
 - (v) Such other ex officio members as the Senate may, from time to time, determine.

(B)

- (i) All full-time members of the Faculty of Social Science.
- (ii) All full-time members of the faculty of the University holding joint appointments with Departments and Academic Units in the Faculty of Social Science.
- (iii) One member of the Faculty of Social Science Regular Full-Time staff, elected thereby.
- (iv) Six students, of whom at least two shall be graduate students in the Social Sciences, elected by the appropriate student bodies.

¹ Jointly with the Faculty of Arts and Humanities

- (v) The following representatives holding the rank of Lecturer or higher:
 - 2 from the Faculty of Arts and Humanities
 - 2 from the Faculty of Science
 - 1 from the Faculty of Information and Media Studies
 - 1 from the Faculty of Education
 - 1 from the Faculty of Engineering
 - 1 from the Faculty of Health Sciences
 - 1 from the Faculty of Law
 - 1 from each of the Affiliated University Colleges
- (vi) Such other members as the Senate may, from time to time, determine.
- 5. Members of the above categories shall be entitled to participate fully in meetings of the Council, i.e., to speak, to propose motions, to vote.
- 6. The Council shall meet at least two times each year, normally in Fall and Spring, and at such other times as the Council, Chair or Senate may prescribe. A minimum of 20 members of the Council shall constitute a quorum.
- A special meeting of the Council may be called on the written notice of twelve (12) of its members, and shall be convened within ten (10) days thereafter, to consider the matter(s) set out in the notice.
- 8. The Council shall advise Senate on all matters under the jurisdiction of the Senate which are pertinent to the Faculty of Social Science or referred to the Council by the Senate, and shall determine policy on all such matters if so delegated by the Senate.
- 9. The Council shall establish such other committees as it considers necessary. The Council may delegate authority to its committees but these shall be responsible to the Council.
- 10. Nominations proposed by the Nominating Committee for the election of members to Departmental and Faculty Committees, and to other bodies within the University, shall be circulated electronically with a request for additional nominations.
- 11. Elections held by Council to appoint members to Departmental and Faculty Committees and to other bodies within the University, may be held by electronic vote.
- 12. The by-laws and regulations for the conduct of the Council's proceedings shall, where practicable, be those adopted by the Senate.