Faculty of Arts and Humanities

Faculty Award Recipients


Ordre des Palmes Académiques (Order of Chivalry of France)

Hellmuth Prize for Achievement in Research

Graham & Gale Wright Distinguished Scholar 

Faculty Scholars Award

Western Humanitarian Award

Royal Society of Canada 

Distinguished University Professor

Premier’s Discovery Award for Arts & Humanities

David Bentley English 2009

Fellow of the New Zealand Academy of the Humanities/Te Matanga o Te Whainga

Russell Poole English 2008

Aronui (Research/Academic achievement)

Russell Poole English 2008

William Sherwood Fox Chair in Classics (Honarary) 

Christopher Brown Classical Studies 2008

Killam Prize

David Bentley, English 2015

Killam Research Fellowship

William Demopoulos Philosophy 2008

Canadian Academy of Health Sciences Fellow

Charles Weijer Phil/ Medicine 2007

American College of Physicians Fellow

Charles Weijer Phil/ Medicine 2007

Canada Research Chair in Global Women's Issues

Bipasha Baruah Women's Studies 2013

Rotman Canada Research Chair

Canada Research Chair (joint with Medicine in Bioethics)

Charles Weijer Philosophy 2005

Canada Research Chair, Tier 1

Tilottoma Rajan English 2001

Canada Research Chair, Tier 2

Ileana Paul French 2002

Alexander Von Humboldt Foundation Fellowship

Institute of Advanced Study in Princeton

Louis Charland Phil/HSc 2003

Raymond Klibansky Prize (Cdn Fed of Humanities & Social Sciences book prize)

American Society for 18th-Century Studies

Lisa Zeitz English 2000

John Charles Polanyi Prize

Prize in Literature Visiting Artist, Open Studio, Toronto ON

Sheila Butler Visual Arts 1999

Presidential Discretionary Award,

Tracy Isaacs Philosophy 1999

Radcliffe College Bunting Fellow, Mary Ingraham

Tracy Isaacs Philosophy 1999

Bunting Institute, Radcliffe College

Tracy Isaacs Philosophy 1999

Woman of the Year in Philosophy, South African Women for Women

Tracy Isaacs Philosophy 1998

Northrop Frye Chair in Theory, U of Toronto

Tilottoma Rajan English 1998

Ogden Glass Lecturer, Bishop’s Univeristy

David Bentley English 1997

W.C. Desmond Pacey Memorial Lecturer, U of New Brunswick

David Bentley English 1997

Panhellenic Council Award

Panhellenic Council Teaching Award

Lisa Zeitz English 1995

David Savan Dissertation Award, U of Toronto

Dennis Klimchuk Philosophy 1996

Earl Bargainnier Award, American Popular Culture

Manina Jones English 1996

Charles S. Pierce Society Essay Prize

Wayne Myrvold Philosophy 1993

Cdn Assoc for American Studies: Best Essay of the Year Award

Patrick Maynard Philosophy 1993

Liquitex Materials Award

Sheila Butler Visual Arts 1992

Johnsonian Prize in Philosophy

Robert Muehlmann Philosophy 1992

Colin & Ailsa Turbayne International Berkeley Essay Prize

Robert Muehlmann Philosophy 1991

Ralph Steinhauer Award of Distinction

Michael Milde Philosophy 1991

Ontario Confederation of University Faculty Association (OCUFA) Award

Don Hair English 1991

Canada House Award, 11th British Print Biennial, Bradford, England

Patrick Mahon Visual Arts 1990

Honorary Award, 11th Internat’l Biennial of Woodcut, Bansk Systrica, Czechoslovakia

Patrick Mahon Visual Arts 1990

Ralph Steinhauer Award of Distinction

Michael Milde Philosophy 1990

James Holly Hanford Award

John Leonard English 1990


3M Teaching Fellowship for Excellence in Teaching

Marilyn Robinson Award for Excellence in Teaching

Edward G. Pleva Award for Excellence in Teaching

A&H Teaching Excellence Award (Part- Time)

A&H Teaching Excellence Award (Full- Time)

Angela Armitt Award for Excellence in Teaching by Part-Time Faculty

Kathryn Mockler Writing 2012

Assoc of Cdn College & Univ Teachers of English’s Priestley Prize (ACCUTE)

Kirsty Robertson Visual Arts 2011