The Gerda Henkel Prize

The Gerda Henkel Prize was set up in 2006 and is awarded every two years to excellent and internationally acclaimed researchers who have demonstrated outstanding scholarly achievement in the disciplines and funding areas supported by the Foundation and can be expected to continue to do so. The Gerda Henkel Prize is worth 100,000 euros. The prize money may be used at the winner’s discretion.


Research in the following fields is supported: 

  • Archaeology
  • History, Art History, History of Law, History of Science, Prehistory and Early History, Historic Islamic Studies
  • “Islam, the Modern Nation State, and Transnational Movements”
  • “Security, Society and the State”

A complete nomination package will consist of:

  • The online nomination form
  • The reasoning for the proposal
  • The nominee’s curriculum vitae
  • A list of the nominee’s most important academic publications from the last five years.


The final nomination deadline is January 17, 2020


Interested parties are encouraged to consult with Julaine Hall ( at Research Development & Services regarding these awards and the nomination processes.