Khwarizmi International Award

In 1987, the Iranian Research Organization for Science and Technology, affiliated with the Iranian Ministry of Science, Research, and Technology, established the Khwarizmi Award, now called the Khwarizmi International Award. It is named for the Iranian mathematician and astronomer Abu Jafar Mohammad Ibn Mousa Khwarizmi (770-840 CE). Valued between $5000 and $10,000, the award is intended to recognize outstanding scientific achievements by researchers, inventors, and innovators from all over the world in a variety of fields, including:

  • Aerospace
  • Engineering
  • Medical Sciences
  • Agriculture
  • Information Technology
  • Nanotechnology
  • Basic Sciences
  • Material Sciences
  • Renewable Energy
  • Biotechnology
  • Mechatronics

The work in question must have already been completed and fall into one of the following four categories: Applied Research, Fundamental Research, Research & Development, Invention & Innovation


Nomination is not necessary; direct applications are allowed.  A completed application is submitted online and will include:

  • Title of research work in question
  • 150-word abstract on the work in question
  • Copies of any certificates/awards, especially those pertinent to the work
  • Academic background and employment history
  • Complete list of publications
  • Applicant headshot (in colour)
  • A detailed description of the research work, explaining the subject, aim, methodology, and results, as well as indicators of the success of the work (no word limit)
  • Copies of all the publications related to the work in question
  • Photo of the research work, if applicable


The final submission deadline is Tuesday, November 20, 2018


Interested parties are encouraged to consult with Julaine Hall ( at Research Development & Services regarding this award and the nomination process.