Contact Us

Research Building

The human research ethics team, on behalf of Western University's Research Ethics Boards (REB), manages the approval and monitoring process for the use of humans in research at Western and its affiliated hospitals and research institutes. All research involving humans conducted by faculty, staff or students at Western or its affiliated hospitals or research institutes must be approved by a Western-sanctioned review board.  

The associated Boards/Committees at Western University include the Health Sciences REB (HSREB) and the Non-Medical REB (NMREB).

Note: Do Not Respond to wremsend emails that are received from the WREM system as this is a non-person account which is not monitored by our office. Please use either ethics@uwo.ca or wrem@uwo.ca for general queries.

**The human research ethics team is currently working off-site.**

Human Research Ethics

Chairs

  • Dr. Philip Jones, Chair, Health Sciences (HS) REB, pjones8@uwo.ca 
  • Dr. Roberta Berard, Vice-Chair, Health Sciences (HS) REB, rberard2@uwo.ca
  • Dr. Emma Duerden, Vice-Chair, Health Sciences (HS) REB, eduerden@uwo.ca  
  • Dr. Randal Graham, Chair, Non-Medical (NM) REB, randal@uwo.ca 
  • Dr. Riley Hinson, Vice-Chair, Non-Medical (NM) REB, hinson@uwo.ca 

Director

  • Erika Basile, Director, Research Ethics & Compliance, 519-661-2111, ext. 86764, ebasile@uwo.ca 

Administrative Staff

Ethics Staff

  • Nicola Geoghegan-Morphet, Health Sciences Ethics Officer, 519-661-2111, ext. 84793, ngeoghe@uwo.ca 
  • Karen Gopaul, Health Sciences Ethics Officer, 519-661-2111, ext. 87437, karen.gopaul@uwo.ca
  • Katelyn Harris, Non-Medical Ethics Officer, 519-661-2111, ext. 84768, katelyn.harris@uwo.ca
  • Zoe Levi, Non-Medical Ethics Officer, 519-661-2111, ext. 82811, zlevi2@uwo.ca
  • Kelly Patterson, Non-Medical Ethics Officer, *On Leave*
  • Patricia Sargeant, Health Sciences Ethics Officer, 519-661-2111, ext. 85990, psargean@uwo.ca
  • Jhananiee Subendran, Health Sciences Ethics Officer, 519-661-2111, ext. 86811, jsubendr@uwo.ca 

Human Ethics Office Hours

The human research ethics team has begun hosting office hours. If you would like to meet with one of our ethics officers to discuss any questions you may have about your application, the review process or the WREM system please contact either Patricia Sargeant (Health Science Ethics Officer) or Zoe Levi (Non-Medical Ethics Officer).

In your email please ensure to include the main question(s) or topic that you would like to discuss with our team to ensure that your request is sent to the most appropriate team member.  Please also include some meeting date and time options that work for you. 

If you have a more general question you can also send this information to our ethics@uwo.ca email address and it will be triaged to the most appropriate team member to reach out to you. 

Office Hours will be held via Zoom or telephone for the time being as our office is currently working remotely.  

Please note that all of our team members are happy to meet so if you would like to have a discussion with someone in particular please feel free to contact them to request a meeting. 

How to Find Us

Campus Map
Western Research
Room 5150, Support Services Building
Western University
London, Ontario, Canada, N6G 1G9
Phone: 519.661.3036, Fax: 519.850.2466
Email: ethics@uwo.ca

Driving Directions