Bancroft Award

About The Bancroft Award

Mike and Joan BancroftThe G. Michael and Joan Bancroft Research Award is bestowed annually to a registered Ph.D. student in the Chemistry Department, based on research excellence demonstrated by the quality and quantity of peer-reviewed publications since registration as a graduate student at Western.

This award was established in 2019 with a generous gift from G. Michael Bancroft (Ph.D. '67 Cambridge, DSc '06 Western) and his wife Joan Bancroft (B.A.'67 Manitoba). G. Michael Bancroft joined the Chemistry Department at Western in 1970 as an Assistant Professor. He was Director of the Centre for Chemical Physics from 1977-1981, Chair of Chemistry from 1986-91 and 1992-1995, and Director of the Canadian Light Source in Saskatoon from 1999-2001. He has been committed both to his own spectroscopic research, and to the establishment of large, collaborative research facilities such as Surface Science Western, the Canadian Synchrotron Radiation Facility in Madison, and the Canadian Light Source. He has been the recipient of many awards, including a Shell Graduate Scholarship to the University of Cambridge in 1964, Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada in 1978, and Officer of the Order of Canada in 2006. Both Michael and Joan are very aware of how critical awards (especially early awards) are to a successful career. They want to encourage young Western chemistry graduates with this Research Award.

Terms: The student will have been registered as a graduate student for up to seven terms. The award will be presented in the ninth term (the end of the student's third year), at a 30-minute oral presentation by the recipient. The Graduate Scholarship and Awards Committee of the Department of Chemistry will select the award recipient among the nominations received.

Please see our Department History page for more information on our Department.

Bancroft Awardee Lecturers

  • 2023 Justin Lomax (Supervisor: Paul Ragogna)
  • 2022 Adyn Melenbacher (Supervisor: Martin Stillman)
  • 2021 Kenneth Chu (Supervisor: Zhifeng Ding)
  • 2020 Vinicius Martins dos Santos (Supervisor: Yining Huang)
  • 2019 Kyle Jackman (Supervisor: Johanna M. Blacquiere)